Home > thoughts > sad hotel

sad hotel

“Happiness in intelligent people is the rarest thing I know.”

– Ernest Hemingway

The first time I read that, I couldn’t help but nod in agreement. At the risk of sounding like a huge cock, I have to say that I know exactly how that is, and that the quote makes perfect sense to me when I look at my life as a whole.

Now, I’m not saying that I’m some sort of uber-intelligent, perpetually unhappy thinker, but I can’t help but feel that if I could stop thinking, philosophising and pondering about so many goddamn things, I’d be a damn sight happier. Oh, if only I could turn my brain off for a few hours and enjoy a few blissful hours of not thinking! Distracting myself isn’t good enough, because I always end up thinking once again about whatever it is that I’ve been thinking about recently, even while doing whatever it is that I decided to do in my (misguided, most of the time) attempt to distract myself.

Sometimes I’m almost jealous of those people who know nothing and think about nothing more except their mindless daily routine(s) and classes and their next meal and what clothes to wear for the party on Saturday and so on and so on. Those people who live with their heads permanently in the clouds, unknowing and uncaring, enforcing the old cliche of ignorance being bliss: sometimes I wish I could be like them. If not happy, I’d at least be blissfully unaware of and unconcerned with many of the things that constantly vex me so.

50 bucks says that the bloke who was set free and managed to see the outside world in Plato’s Allegory of the Cave ended up much worse off in terms of his own personal happiness than the other blokes who continued watching the cave’s wall and the shadows cast on said wall, blissfully ignorant and totally oblivious to everything happening and existing outside the cave, and of the nature of their existence itself.

But, then again, I don’t have 50 bucks to put on the line.

Categories: thoughts
  1. thelanguageoflight
    Jan 19, 2009 at 22:16

    I once had a friend say to me, “Staci, you’re very intelligent. And I’m not saying that as a compliment.” At the time, I had no idea what she meant and was curious as to why the remark stung so much. Intelligence is a barrier to joy many times. Thanks for being so honest about it.

  2. Jan 19, 2009 at 22:16

    a quote I found recently
    “The thing that makes you exceptional, if you are at all, inevitably that which must also make you lonely” -Lorainne Hansberry

  3. iheartfilm
    Jan 20, 2009 at 08:49

    Tell me about it. The story of my life. Sometimes I absolutely envy the walking dead.

    Chris

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

