Home > thoughts > wanna sing?

wanna sing?

I have to admit that I’m not a fan of god. I’m not much of a believer in his (her?) existence, nor am I one for religion either. There’s a lot of things to do with god and religion that I simply can’t accept or really agree with, and there are some things that really get my goat and piss me off to no end. Say what you want, but that’s how it is.

But that doesn’t mean I’m constantly hostile towards particularly religious folk and their respective religions. While I do have my moments of significant hostility and venom, most of the time I’m quite alright with being totally unable to agree with people and having people being totally unable to agree with me on the (thorny) topic of religion. That’s fine by me.

If 2008 has to be notable for something aside from my material achievements (and emotional tribulations), it would be the slow realisation that perhaps, just perhaps, religion isn’t for me. I don’t seem to find peace or any sort of comfort in prayer, in piety, in belief and subservience to a god. And not only do I not find any peace or satisfaction, but I also can’t even find within me the ability to agree. You know what, though? I can understand if people do. Just because something doesn’t work for me doesn’t mean it can’t work for others. If religion, god and prayer help you get through your days, then good for you. If a prayer of thanks before you go to bed at night allows you to sleep soundly, then great.

It just doesn’t for me. Not one bit. Maybe I’m better off for it, maybe not; who knows?

Maybe when I’m old and grey and starting to get afraid of having to forcefully relinquish my grip on life I’ll begin feel otherwise. Maybe by then I’ll want the comfort that the prospect of an afterlife provides. Maybe. But I can’t say for sure, not until I get to that exact stage in life.

This doesn’t mean I like all of you, though. Oh no. Some—perhaps even many—types of people I simply can’t help but dislike and violently disagree with when it comes to religion. I guess some of you know who these people are, eh.

(I haven’t done any of this sort of blogging in a long time, and I make no claims that this is at all cohesive or some sort of sound argument about anything in particular. Just thoughts, commited into words at three-something in the morning while listening to Robedoor.)

Categories: thoughts
  1. Jan 4, 2009 at 10:18

    I no problems with religions, gods, goddesses and gurus, really. the pissy part is that when they go hardcore. We can learn from anything, any doctrine; at the end of the day it is up to us to dissect what we’ve learned and apply them in our lives. I believe in religionSSS, I do. Because no matter how some of us can’t accept everything they’re trying to preach, ultimately, they after all are guidance to be good. I just don’t believe in worship.

    happy 2009.
    keep writing and photographing ;)

  2. Jan 5, 2009 at 23:06

    I am never religious but I could not conclude on the existence of god because I am not knowledgeable enough to make such conclusion.
    Religions are based on dogma. You have to accept an ideology without question. Now, a religion that worship a god with the power to give life, to create the universe, to control the movement of each and every planet in the solar system and some other magnificent stuff won’t allow you to question its doctrine? How can you get any answer if you don’t ask? Well. You can’t.
    Then there are the questions of morality. How come someone who is not religious is considered immoral by the most people? I just can’t quite get the logic in that. Are religious fundamentalists telling us that without a religion they will behave and act like a spoilt petulant child? Raping? Stealing? If they do, they are just a bad person to start with. Morality has nothing to do with religion, if you don’t like to be raped don’t go around raping people. As simple as that. (Unless you are a weirdo who loves to get raped. You should just check yourself into a mental institution.)
    Again, I have no problem with god. Maybe he/she exists. I just don’t know. If he/she does exist, I think he/she just don’t care.

  3. Jan 6, 2009 at 13:29

    Well said, my friend.

    I personally live by the mantra of “question everything,” and I do, often to the detriment of my own mental sanity (while running the risk of having conservatives/fundamentalists/your typical Malay-and-too-caught-up-in-his-own-supposed-supremacy bloke start rambling on about how I’m “wrong” and I should “compromise” and “accept the truth,” which is supremely annoying).

    And yeah, religion and morality are two different things, and you can have morality without religion and religion without morality, which is something I’m sure a lot of really religious people won’t want to admit… after all, religion does make you “pure” and “good” and it’s impossible anyone would want to do any wrong once they’ve “seen the light,” right?

    I don’t disagree that, at heart, religion tells us to do good and etcetc—there’s nothing wrong with that—but I really dislike how they go about it, namely with the whole “because god tells you to/it is his will” and all that pahala/reward/blessing/whatever crap. I do things because I feel they need to be done, not because I’m looking for a reward from a being that may or may not be a totally fictional creation that’s been deluding the human race for nigh on 2,000 years now.

    I don’t know if god exists. I don’t really believe that he/she does. I just wish some religious people would admit that all they’re doing is believing, not actually knowing whether he/she exists.

    Even the big bang theory is just that: a theory. Where do religious people get off acting like religion is more than just a belief, but facts set in stone?

  4. Jan 12, 2009 at 17:37

    Brilliantly put.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

