Home > music, thoughts > songs i like: 03

songs i like: 03

Billy BraggThe Saturday Boy (from the album Brewing Up with Billy Bragg)

I’ll never forget the first day I met her,
That September morning was clear and fresh;
The way she spoke, and laughed at my jokes and the way she rubbed herself against the edge of my desk..
She became a magic mystery to me and we’d sit together in double history twice a week and some days we’d walk the same way home and it’s surprising how quick a little rain can clear the streets.

We dreamed of her and compared our dreams, but that was all that I ever tasted,
For she lied to me with her body, you see,
I lied to myself about the chances I wasted.

The times we were close were far and few between,
In the darkness of the dances in the school canteen – did she close her eyes as I did when we held each other tight?
And la la la la la la la la la means I love you…

She danced with me and I still hold that memory
Soft and sweet
And I stare up at her window
As I walk down her street
But I never made the first team, I just made the first team laugh
And she could never come to the phone – she was always in the bath.

In the end it took me a dictionary to find out the meaning of unrequieted,
While she was giving herself for free
At a party to which I was never invited.

I never understood my failings then,
and I hide my humble hopes now;
Thinking back, she made us want her,
A girl not old enough to shave her legs

I love this songso much that I routinely swear at Billy Bragg for writing such a wonderful song. Give it a listen and tell me you don’t feel like singing along to it. This is, frankly, one of the best songs I’ve ever heard. Maybe even one of the best songs ever written. And those lyrics… my god.

Honestly, which bloke hasn’t been there? That crush, you know? That girl, that time, that wonderfully torturous adolescent experience? I can’t speak for you girls, but I’m pretty sure nearly every bloke has gone through such an experience before. And if you haven’t, you’re either incredibly lucky or incredibly pathetic. It is, I guess, part and parcel of being a guy.

And even if the lyrics didn’t tell such a familiar story (one that I seem to know by heart and can relate to all too well), I’d still fall in love with lines like “but I never made the first team, I just made the first team laugh”. Such a wonderful line, no? Mr. Bragg is probably one of the masters of that art known as lyric writing and that just makes me love his work so much more.

This song is the epitome of “bittersweet” for me. “Sweet” because of, well, the song; how catchy it is, how wonderfully written it is, and how singalong-friendly it is. “Bitter” because of, well, the story it tells. Ok, not incredibly bitter but still… not exactly happy is it?

I couldn’t find a video with the studio version though, so no trumpet solo. I’ll probably upload the mp3 in a bit, the trumpet solos are too good to miss out on.

Categories: music, thoughts
  1. Nov 15, 2008 at 21:40

    o wait…i see “september” in the lyrics…hahahaha…i like september =P

  2. Nov 15, 2008 at 23:01

    i can’t, for the life of me, figure out why you would =p

  3. Nov 16, 2008 at 13:42

    so mean!!!…my birthday month =P i know u knew tht.

  4. Nov 16, 2008 at 18:26

    i know, i know

    sadly, “tongue planted firmly in cheek” does not translate well via text

  5. Nov 17, 2008 at 20:44

    blek

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

