Home > music, thoughts > songs i like: 01

songs i like: 01

Yes. In an attempt to make this blog appear at least somewhat alive, I’ve decided to do useless entries consisting of a video of a song that I like (from, where else, YouTube) accompanied by lyrics and, perhaps, just perhaps, some sort of lame, worthless commentary (which, judging by past experience, will often read more like a fanboy gushing over a song without making any useful, concrete points as opposed to an actual commentary). The song may mean something to me, it may be a song that I can relate to really well, or, of course, it may just be a song that I really quite like. Or a mix of all three (and many more).

So, first song:

Weezer – El Scorcho (from the album Pinkerton)

Goddamn you half-Japanese girls
Do it to me every time
Oh, the redhead said you shred the cello
And I’m jello, baby
But you won’t talk, won’t look, won’t think of me
I’m the epitome of Public Enemy
Why you wanna go and do me like that?
Come down on the street and dance with me
I’m a lot like you so please hello, I’m here, I’m waiting
I think I’d be good for you and you’d be good for me
I asked you to go to the Green Day concert
You said you never heard of them
How cool is that?
So I went to your room and read your diary:
“watching Grunge leg-drop New Jack trough presstable…”
and then my heart stopped:
“listening to Cio-Cio San fall in love all over again.”
How stupid is it? I can’t talk about it
I gotta sing about it and make a record of my heart
How stupid is it? won’t you gimme a minute
just come up to me and say “hello” to my heart
How stupid is it? For all I know you want me too
And maybe you just don’t know what to do
Or maybe you’re scared to say: “I’m falling for you”
I wish I could get my head out of the sand
‘Cuz I think we’d make a good team
And you would keep my fingernails clean
But that’s just a stupid dream that I won’t realize
‘Cuz I can’t even look in your eyes without shakin’, and I ain’t fakin’
I’ll bring home the turkey if you bring home the bacon

Say what you want about Weezer/Rivers Cuomo in this day and age (washed up, crap, etcetc… all partly true), but you gotta admit though that early on they/he did write some brilliant songs, this particular one being one of those (alongside, oh, the whole of the Pinkerton album?). It is, simply put, wonderful. Supremely catchy (the chorus is pretty much permanently stuck in my head now), very well-written and, well, just take a look at those lyrics. I know all too well how that exact situation feels like, and I’m sure I’m not the only one, eh? I was never much good with them females (as some might attest to), and, well, this song is one of those “haha hey let’s indulge in some self-pity while shouting my lungs out” songs.

Honestly now, who the fuck has never thought something like “I think I’d be good for you and you’d be good for me?”

I have, of course. Far too many times.

Categories: music, thoughts
  1. Nov 14, 2008 at 00:06

    el scorcho!!
    ayaaaaa carribbbbaaa!!!!!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

