Home > music > a new england

a new england

Billy Bragg – A New England
I was 21 years when I wrote this song
I’m 22 now but I won’t be for long
People ask me “when will you grow up to be a man?”
But all the girls I loved in school are already pushing prams

I loved you then as I love you still
Though I put you on a pedestal, they put you on the pill
I don’t feel bad about letting you go
I just feel sad about letting you know

I don’t want to change the world
I’m not looking for a new England
I’m just looking for another girl

I loved the words you wrote to me
But that was bloody yesterday
I can’t survive on what you send
Everytime you need a friend

I saw two shooting stars last night
I wished on them but they were only satallites
Is it wrong to wish on space hardware?
I wish, I wish, I wish you’d care

I don’t want to change the world
I’m not looking for a new England
I’m just looking for another girl

Looking for another girl…

Billy Bragg, like the Buzzcocks, understood that sometimes it’s not about rabble rousing, not about anger, not about fighting for change and not about revolution, and that sometimes all you want (or want to sing about) is, well, love. Or, as good old Billy would have it, “another girl.”

This is such a wonderful song, I think you’ll agree.

Categories: music
  1. Sep 16, 2008 at 07:35

    i like the part where he sings abt the shooting stars and space hardware =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

