a report

The gig went well enough, I suppose. Managed to get nail a good tone that didn’t get lost in the mix and pretty much rocked out throughout our seven-song set. I doubt I’ve played with that much drive and intensity in a while. I certainly haven’t sweated as much as I did today in a long time, though! My arms were covered by a layer of sweat by the middle of the first song, and by the end of our set I was pretty much dripping with sweat.

I screamed my head off (occasionally), managed to pull off some of those seemingly-required-in-hardcore jumps/hops and enjoyed playing and being on stage. It was a slight bummer that there were so few people in the audience during our set (we played second) but, well, better than performing to an empty hall or something of the sort.

I wasn’t really nervous either, except when we launched into our first song and the moments where I somewhat lost my timing amidst the racket we were cooking up. Thankfully I managed to re-orientate myself without having to stop or anything like that. Once I got into the groove (which didn’t take long, really) I think I played (and, most importantly, performed) well enough.

Come to think of it, I wasn’t half as nervous as you’d expect, seeing as it was my first time playing a gig and all. Perhaps the fact that today wasn’t my first time on stage helped, maybe, but up until today I had never been up on stage to do anything remotely similar to a gig.

It was, however, slightly odd to be on the stage and looking out into the faces of the crowd, rather than the other way around. But even that feeling quickly subsided.

I’m waiting for photos. Sadly the bloke who was doing most of the photographing said he didn’t manage to catch me jumping since he accidentally had his camera on “auto” mode . . . but he showed me some decent enough photos of me and the band, so I guess it’s all good. Once I get those then maybe time for a photo post. Haha.

I have to say, I could learn to like this, the “whole performing on stage” bit. I already really like the “playing music in a band” bit and I have a feeling that, in time, I’ll end up really liking the former bit as well. I’m eagerly awaiting our next gig, actually. I hope that we’ll be playing to more people though, next time. Whenever that is.

There’s really not much in life that compares to the thrill of being on stage, at least from my experience. Be it playing a gig or acting in a play, it’s all good. I’m not sure how to describe the feeling, but I certainly enjoyed doing “my thing” on stage and being the focus of many a pair of eyes. I don’t think I’d enjoy, say, being part of an orchestra or anything, at least not as much as being an actor in a small cast or a guitarist in a five-piece band.

Taking up guitar, I have to say, has probably been one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

