Home > gaming, photos and photography, the silver screen, thoughts > it’s coming to a grinding halt

it’s coming to a grinding halt

Bear with me. It’s nearly 3am and I am bored. And, perhaps, should be asleep, but hey, I’ll sleep when I’m dead. Or something like that. Just you watch, I will surely one day be involved in an accident that will be directly due to my huge lack of sleep. Somehow.

I heard my brother’s cell going off just now. To be honest I don’t know who the fuck would call a schoolkid at nearly 3 in the morning and expect him to answer. Sure, there’s footy on, but, really, I’d personally put sleep much, much higher up the list than watching Switzerland face Turkey (and sitting in front of my computer writing a useless blog post higher than that, still). Of course, if you call me at 3 in the morning I’ll pick up, definitely, as Farrid (of The Next Lab Is Inside/Hey! Hooboopolar) will attest to.

Isn’t it comforting knowing that I’m easily contactable at hours where most people would be nigh-on unreachable?

selamat jalan
I’ve been slightly uninspired in terms of photography lately. I find that the 135mm is nearly always on my A200 now, for some reason. Maybe because it’s a good, good lens?

Haven’t written much either. Must fix that. FM addiction is a crippling, crippling addiction. Right now I’m fighting the urge to start it up and continue playing. I’ll let the high from trouncing Real Madrid 3-1 at the Bernabéu (for a 4-3 aggregate scoreline, sending me into the CL semis) lull me to sleep tonight.

I watched Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas the night before last. Great adaptation. Johnny Depp was brilliant as Raoul Duke. He wasn’t just acting as Raoul Duke (and, by extension, Hunter S. Thompson), mind you: he was Raoul Duke. Nailed everything there was to nail about the character nearly spot-on. Benicio Del Toro was great, too, as the “300 pound Samoan” lawyer.

Trippy movie. Funny, too, in a sense. Shares that almost out-of-control feeling of recklessness that the book has. I think that even if it wasn’t an adaptation of the book—which it is, for all you idiots—it would be the perfect film counterpart to the book. Sure, there’s not much in terms of plot or character development, but then the book didn’t have any of that stuff either. And if you’re looking for those things, you better look somewhere else.

Will watch Woman in the Dunes next. Probably going to dedicate a whole night to it. Don’t know when.

Now I shall sign off and finish writing a monologue for my Creative Writing class. You know what they say, no need to worry until 2-3am. And I’m not worried.

Overly cheerful and optimistic people are very, very tiring.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

