Home > life and times, photos and photography, purchases > the policeman’s beard

the policeman’s beard

I really should have slept earlier last night. Woke up at 9.30 having gotten too little sleep. Me and my dad had an appointment with someone at 11, and thus we had to wake up early. Why so early, though? You see, while neither of us take long to get ready, the problem is that we have to get on the computer/’Net in the morning, before anything else. The actual “getting ready” part is insignificant compared to the “oh shit I have to get on the ‘Net first and check my email/myspace/facebook/blog/bittorent downloads/etc” part. Sad, perhaps, but oh so true.

A Minolta 50mm f/2.8 macro arrived this morning. I kept saying I couldn’t really justify using it (I was [and still am] happy with my 50mm f/1.4 and thought that I wouldn’t use it that much), but, well . . . more on that later.

After meeting a guy at Burger King in Giant KJ for a deal (sold a 50mm f/1.7 RS) me and my dad got in the car and headed to Pertama Complex to see if International Camera could fix some troublesome lenses (TWO 50mm f/1.4s and a 35-70mm f/4) that would need fixing in order for my dad to be able to sell them off. Took us an hour, but not because of heavy traffic or whatever, but rather because we got lost pissing about KL/Jalan Parlimen/Mahameru Highway/I-don’t-know and basically, well, going around in circles. The traffic was relatively light, actually, and KL almost felt a bit empty. I’m sure the school holidays had something to do with it.

Ah, the perils of missing one turn . . .

At Pertama we walked about and I bought some CDs (ok, well, copies: Turisas’ The Varangarian Way—which, while not as good as Battle Metal, is purty kickass—and Municpal Waste’s The Art of Partying, which, sadly, is a bit fucked—the copy, not the music), looked at some t-shirts (will be back next time, yes~) and bought a pair of black Levi’s jeans (secondhand/bundle, of course: I like Levi’s but fuck off I’m not paying for a new pair). We also stumbled upon some nifty Vivitar OM-mount lenses, and sent the lenses in for repair. I spent quite a bit of time in International Camera eyeing a Lowepro Fastpack 250. Sure would be nice to have one. Would be more convenient too, I could stuff books and stuff in the compartment meant for the laptop. PTPTN loan leftovers to the rescue?

The store also had a Minolta SR-T 101 with the (apparently legendary) 58mm f/1.2 lens on it, going for around RM1500. Holy shit.

Sadly didn’t manage to head over to Campbell Complex but there’s always next time. We’ll be back there next week anyway, probably, to pick up the lenses and send a couple more in for repair/servicing.

I played around with the 50mm f/2.8 macro more when we got back and I ended up liking it very much. It’s a great lens. I may even like it better than my 50mm f/1.4, especially when it comes to the sharpness as well as colours and contrast. Perhaps not really suitable as a walkabout lens, it’s more of a “sit down then put it on the camera” type of lens. I think it’ll stay in my posession for a while. Wish it was a bit faster, though, as f/2.8 sometimes isn’t fast enough. Unless I get an A700. *drools*

A 135mm f/2.8 might be coming too (in a package with a Minolta 7000i and a 35-70mm f/4) and my dad is telling me to use it. Racun-ing, as the vernacular goes. He did the same thing with the 50mm f/2.8 macro, and, well . . . tengoklah. I guess when the dust settles I’ll be rollin’ with a 24mm f/2.8, a 50mm f/1.4, a 50mm f/2.8 macro and a 135mm f/2.8. The latter might not be as useful on APS-C as it would be on film (crop factor makes it a 200mm f/2.8 or thereabouts), though, but there are two Minolta Maxxum SLRs lying around. And who knows I might like a 200mm tele. If not, my dad would probably be able to sell it and make some money. heh.

I feel guilty all of a sudden. =/

I will get my hair trimmed and layered tomorrow. I will have to conquer this irrational fear of haircuts I seem to have due to some bad recent (relatively speaking, that is: last time I had anything done to my hair was over a year ago) experiences and get something done.

Photos:
jalan tar

fifty

fire?
The second photo was taken with the 50 2.8 macro. Nice, eh?

And shit I write too much sometimes.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

