Home > life and times, music, the printed page, the silver screen, thoughts > wenn nicht bist du draussen

wenn nicht bist du draussen

I went to the dentist today. He took a quick (and slightly rough, if I may add) peek around my mouth and said that one of my teeth (the wisdom tooth that has been bothering me over the past week or so) is infected and that I’m going to have to be on medication (antibiotics, basically) for about a week to get rid of said infection. Nothing unusual, I’m used to popping pills for one ailment/condition or another. It was a quicker visit than I’d imagined, though. I stepped in, he asked me what was up, I told him, he poked around, said there was an infection and that he’d give me some antibiotics, told me to come back next week and then told me to wait outside.

Didn’t even take 5 minutes, I don’t think. Haha.

On the “books” front, I’m starting to get into Bruen’s Priest right now, and as far as my previous track record with Bruen’s books is concerned, expect me to make an entry in a couple of days saying that I’ve finished reading it and I enjoyed it greatly. It’s quite enjoyable so far, with Bruen’s typically tight and urgent prose as well as his sly/black sense of humour in full force.

Speaking of Bruen, I finished The Hackman Blues sometime last week. I enjoyed it quite a bit. Even though the book has probably one of the most unlikable set of characters to grace the printed page (no, they’re not “evil”, they’re plain unlikable), I thought it was a compelling read. Brady, the “hero” (who also happens to be manic depressive, gay and a tough guy prone to bouts of violence) slowly evolves throughout the book into a complex character, and actually becomes kind of likable by the end of the book. In a sense. And I like the ending. It’s not happy, it’s not cathartic, but it’s not actually depressing either. It’s… melancholy, I guess. Perhaps slightly on the “depressing” side but I use that term very, very loosely. It’s not an ending that anyone will cry over, for sure. But it’s a good ending, and perhaps quite fitting.

All the Bruen I’ve been reading makes me want to write, and write something that isn’t my typical story. Something… Bruen-ish. Something hard-boiled and violent, tense and gritty, dark and intense. And funny. But, man, I don’t know if I can. Not that I’ve tried, mind you. I should, but then there’s this whole self-doubt thing going on in my head and I really don’t know if I want to try. The fact that I haven’t exactly been blessed with ideas recently isn’t helping much either. I really should branch out, though, but then…

Pffht. Nevermind. If I can’t write then I’ll read and do other things. Sometimes I regret starting to write again, if only for the fact that I hate all the self-doubt and negativity I invariably feel about myself, my work and my ability/-ies.

I watched Dead Leaves yesterday, and I enjoyed it quite a bit. Its visual style is unique and eye-catching and lends the movie its own quite unique style, it’s action packed and it’s also occasionally incredibly funny, what with having a character who has a HUGE drill (presumably, judging by the position on his body) in place of his cock. For example:


Should I kiss you first, or should I just stick it in?

I laughed so hard at that part. Seriously, though, it’s quite an awesome movie and a nice way to spend 50 or so minutes. Mental with a capital “M”, I’d say. Also, I should get around to watching Mulholland Drive, Visitor Q, Oldboy and This Is England soon. Work through my movie backlog and stop adding to it, you know. Which is funny, since I just finished downloading Ghost in the Shell: Solid State Society today. I need a new, HUEG hard drive (like, 350 gigs or something). Now I know how people can fill up three 300 gig hard drives. Haha. It’s not impossible.

I’ve also been assaulting my eardrums with lots and lots of emo/screamo today, and the idea came to me of putting together a sort of e-mixtape of some of my favourite emo/skram tracks to alleviate my boredom, for random shits and giggles as well as to let some of my (more musically adventurous) readers find out what exactly it is that I listen to. Not that anyone would really care, but yeah.

  1. Ilyayaya
    Apr 28, 2008 at 20:59

    I just told my mom this morning that I need to see the dentist.

    Something is wrong with my upper set of teeth. They hurt at times.

    I hate going to the dentist. Scaling was a bad experience. Gah

  2. azzief
    Apr 28, 2008 at 21:15

    Ah. Scaling.

    Going to have to revisit the dentist for that next week.

    Awesome.

  3. peachdrug
    Apr 28, 2008 at 21:33

    Oh wow it’s been a long time since I’ve been to the dentist. Huuuu.

    Dead Leaves! Where did you get it?? (yes as much as I am updated with the info on anime, yet I fail at downloading things) I want to get Mind Game next. You, try Cat Soup.

  4. azzief
    Apr 28, 2008 at 21:36

    Dead Leaves? Same place I (and you, heh) got Paprika from~

  5. Ilyayaya
    Apr 28, 2008 at 21:50

    I’d rather have those yellow shits sticking on my teeth than to go scaling AGAIN.

    It was truly idiotic.

  6. azzief
    Apr 28, 2008 at 22:03

    That bad, eh?

    Well, I’m no stranger to unpleasant experiences so I guess I’ll just add that to my list eventually.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

