Home > the silver screen > i’m clementine… no jokes about my name

i’m clementine… no jokes about my name


This is probably one of the best things I have ever watched on TV, and certainly the only time in recent memory (aside from watching footy matches) that I’ve actually stayed in front of the TV for around 2 hours, through ads and all that shit. If TV3 and 8tv and whoever else showed more movies like this then the world would be a greater place, yes?

I thought it was a wonderful, wonderful movie. Sure, I will admit that perhaps it is slightly disorienting and confusing, but damn it’s just… great great great. It’s a mind-fuck, perhaps, but it’s also… beautiful, in a sense. It’s a mind-fuck with a solid emotional core. I thought it was beautiful, personally. Really, really beautiful.

Loved the visuals, as well. The effects (like the dissapearing text from the card as well as the dissapearing people at Grand Central Station), the nice usage of trompe-l’œil (the kitchen scene), the old film look during some of the scenes, the dissapearing cars and disintergrating beach house and all that. What really got me hooked, though, was the scene where time and perspective looped: the part where Joel was unable to get from one end of the street to another. If you’ve watched it, you know what I mean. Now that, ladies and gentlemen, is a mind-fucking scene. Truth.

The scene on the frozen river was great too, for different reasons altogether, as was the scene at the end of the whole disintergrating beach house thing. Just… goddamn.

I liked the dialogue and a lot of the lines, too. Particularly the lines in the final flashback/dream sequence at the beach. But overall the lines and dialogue were great, as well as the acting. I felt that Jim Carrey really pulled the character of Joel off well. Certainly not the sort of role you’d associate with him, eh?

This particular line of Joel’s made me smile quite a bit:

Why do I fall in love with every woman I see who shows me the least bit of attention?

Oh God, ahahaha. Sheeeeeeeeeeeeit!

You know there’s something about a movie if I take the time to wax lyrical about it like this and if I actually try and express my thoughts on it, because I am quite horrible at this whole expressing-my-thoughts-on-a-movie-or-book thing. Really. I never felt comfortable with it, which is why I didn’t say anything much for 5 Centimeters Per Second or even Paprika. But this time ’round…

Watch it if you haven’t. Which would be strange, since it’s been pretty much four years since this was released and it won Academy Awards and stuff. But, hey, I’m sure there are people out there like me who are horribly out-of-touch with the movie world, yes?

So, again: watch it.

(God I am horrible at this!)

Categories: the silver screen
  1. Ilyayaya
    Apr 27, 2008 at 11:41

    Haha one of my favourite movies.

    The plot is mind-blogging, but awesome nevertheless.

    The concept is pretty cool too ;)

  2. azzief
    Apr 27, 2008 at 12:29

    Gondry is a genius, why lie.

    His music videos are also bloody awesome. Especially “Star Guitar”. That one is just so much <3

  3. Ilyayaya
    Apr 27, 2008 at 13:26

    Mind-boggling*

    Haha I think I’m gonna look for the dvd. I think it’s somewhere in my hse. Lol

  4. azzief
    Apr 27, 2008 at 13:29

    (haha, I was waiting to see if you’d notice that “mind-blogging” thing~)

    I might go look for the dvd. Or download. Probably download. I am, after all, like that. Haha.

    So now I’m looking for more Burroughs and Kerouac books as well as more Gondy movies.

  5. peachdrug
    Apr 27, 2008 at 14:56

    to azzief: Gondy? I see what you did there.

    I love this movie. I love how it toyed with the idea, “starting all over again” with the mind-erasing concept. I love that it plays with the neurotic senses of memories and your perceptions on someone. & how wiping the memory won’t even change your feelings if you really love the person. Damn son. Neurons and love stories, how can I resist? (ok Bioscience geek talking)

    :)

    For anime, check out The Girl Who Leapt Through Time. It’s a light-hearted one, but it’s sweet nonetheless.

  6. azzief
    Apr 27, 2008 at 16:03

    I can never resist love stories. At least, the ones that aren’t your typical sappy mainsteam romantic flick. Haha.

    I’d probably have liked it even if the concept wasn’t pulled off well, because, fuck, it was a trip. And, as I said, a right old mind-fuck.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

