Home > music, photos and photography, the printed page, thoughts > music sounds better with you

music sounds better with you

through the rain

Kerouac’s Desolation Angels is, to me, getting better and better. I’ve just finished book one and one thing that instantly came to mind when I finished it was how much I had enjoyed the latter parts of the first book more than the early parts about Duoloz on Desolation Peak. Don’t get me wrong, those bits weren’t bad per se, it’s just that I prefer the parts about his “adventures” in the city with Cody and Raphael and Irwin much more.

There’s a lot of truth in the words of Duoloz and his friends, I feel.

I’ve recently found myself unconsciously thinking like how Kerouac writes, in that stream-of-consciousness style of writing/sentence structuring. Just blurting it all out, letting things run together. Maybe once I finish the short story I’ve been working (ok, procrastinating) on I’ll try my hand at some stream-of-consciousness writing. Which will probably suck quite a bit, but hey, it’d be fun to see what I can do with it.

out to dry

It’s an undeniable fact that I love words. I love reading and writing them. And I hope that they’ll stay a part of my life for a long time to come. This may be misguided, but I can’t help but feel that my ability and way with words is probably the only thing really going for me at the moment. How I write and speak, how I use my vocabulary. I’m not claiming I’m good, mind you. But, if I may be honest, I’m not half bad, am I?

But I’m still not keen on majoring in literature. I’m good at the words but not the ideas. Or so I feel. I don’t like the analysis. I’m not keen on the objectivity. I love the subjectivity of things, the actual art of writing itself, but I’m not keen on the theory side.

Let’s hope that the rumoured creative writing major will materialize. I’d be on that like a Catholic priest on an 8-year old, why lie.

I’m thinking should get some studying done, lest I fuck up and fail one of my papers. “Only” getting 17 marks out of 50 for my carry marks isn’t a good thing, no. Gotta buck up and do something. But why lie, I’m all talk and no walk. And I fear that my horrible sleep schedule and general accumulated sleep debt and deprivation will end up taking a toll on me. Particularly, my nearly-endless feelings of fatigue and tiredness. Which does wonders, of course, for my drive to study.

And, on a totally in related note, Daft Punk’s Alive 2007 has to, in retrospect, rank as one of the best albums of 2007. Bloody awesome, it is. I’ve been an on-and-off fan of theirs for quite a bit, but, personally, Alive 2007 just nailed it for me. All killer, no filler indeed. And sounds great too, sound-wise. I guess you’d expect that. Or would you?

hadi
  1. gabbagabbahey
    Jun 29, 2008 at 20:18

    I like what you say about reading the first book of Desolation Angels. It’s almost a relief to read when he comes down out of the mountains, but while those more social parts are more enjoyable, the beginning also serves an important purpose in showing a darker and more experimental (in literary terms) side of the end of Dharma Bums.

    http://steadydietofbooks.blogspot.com/2007/09/jack-kerouac-desolation-angels.html

    – gabba (Hardcore for Nerds)

  2. azzief
    Jun 30, 2008 at 00:07

    True, true. I re-read it recently and I came to a somewhat similar conclusion.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

