in case of fire

Today was an alright day. Classes didn’t turn out to be half as bad as I expected, which proved to be quite a pleasant surprise. In an odd way, I guess it’s one of the benefits of being slightly pessimistic about things: when they turn out to be even only just decent, that’s already a good thing. Funnily enough, the only thing I really wasn’t pessimistic at all about (which is rare!) ended up dissapointing me quite a bit.

Funny how things work out, yeah?

And, no, I’m not bitter, I’m not angry, I’m not sad. I don’t know what I am, but I know what I’m not. And, while that’s not much good at all, it’s much better than knowing nothing. Which would really be my usual situation. Knowing nothing at all, even about myself and how I feel. Half-way is good enough for me.

I wish I could say more, but I don’t know what to say. It’d just make me feel worse, though.

Today in my morning class (Language and Media), we had to, as a group, come up with a company and a product and write a press release about said product to promote it. After the usual “eh… what the fuck are we going to do?” stage, one of my groupmates suggested we do something about a book, and the ideas kinda just flowed. When it came to the title, I came up with “Love, Life and the Art of Folding Clothes,” which, if anyone’s been reading this from the eaaaaaaarly daaaays, was once used as the caption-description-thingy for this very blog.

(That’s impossible, though. Just impossible.)

Now that I’m a writer, though (well, kinda… not a very good one, but a writer nonetheless), I guess I could actually use the title for a real piece of fiction. We’ll see about that. After all, I nearly always come up with my titles first.

So yeah, in a sense, one good happened today. I also saw some friends, talked, spent time just doing nothing useful and enjoyed myself too. So, yeah, come to think of it, two good things happened today. Friends always make my day, especially during times like these.

pecah kaca pecah gelas

I neglected to mention this yesterday (for reasons that may be obvious to some of my more clued-in readers), but I spent most of yesterday afternoon/evening at an event held by UNITAR’s Toastmasters club, just listening to people talk and taking some photos, which I really can’t be bothered to upload. Needless to say, they’ll probably appear on the Internet somewhere soon, and I’ll let you all know. Haha.

Speaking of those same photos, I was looking through some of them with a friend and I felt a certain… oddness when we looked at certain photos. I won’t say more than that, but I’m sure the ones that are supposed to know what I’m on about will “get” it.

I was coaxed to get up on stage during the table topics session, and was asked to pick a colour and explain why I’d want to paint my house that colour. In retrospect, I should’ve pulled out a bigger joke about the whole “no, I can’t paint a house black, can I?” thing but, hey, you tend to forget shit like that when you’re up on stage and can’t seem to fucking gather your fucking thoughts together.

I apparently made the crowd laugh four times over a 1:40-something period, which is I guess quite commendable.

Now, I have to say this, but I don’t think I’ll be joining Toastmasters regardless of how much people say I should, or how much people say I’d be suited to it. Fact is, it’s not where my interest lies. I’m a much bigger fan of artsy circlejerks and open mic nights and things like that. No real formalities, no real aims or reasons or things like that. Just people getting together to listen/watch each other do their thing on stage. Maybe I’m just being immature and don’t want to join Toastmasters just because, which is something I’m not ruling out.

Hey, it’s :punkrock: to act like that, yes?

And I finally got around to watching Fahmi Reza’s “10 Tahun Sebelum Merdeka” tonight (website, with download links), and I have to say I enjoyed it. It shed a lot of light on one of the many parts of history that our lovely school textbooks never really explained properly. Made me feel, oddly, good, seeing all the (old, no offence,) interviewees and guessing how it must feel to know that you’ve lived your life with some sort of purpose. Very enjoyable documentary, and I heartily recommend it to anyone who hasn’t seen it yet. I sure hope that it’s a comparatively small number to the ones that have.

Tomorrow might be good too, going to Seremban with friends. They’re heading over on “official” business, I’m just tagging along to annoy ’em I guess. Hoping I get some good photos and all, especially if we decide to traipse around Seremban for a bit. Or something.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

