Home > life and times, photos and photography, the printed page, thoughts > the four words scribbled on the paper entered her heart like sharp teeth rending a weave

the four words scribbled on the paper entered her heart like sharp teeth rending a weave

uh... yeah.

I decided, in my current book-reading mood, to finally try and finish Mikhail Sholokhov’s “And Quiet Flows the Don.” I read it up until somewhere just before the second part of the book (“War”) a long time ago and just, for some odd reason, stopped. I didn’t want to re-read it from the start, though, so I decided I’d just continue from where I left off. Thankfully I decided to use a bookmark.

It’s a great book, and quite an epic. I like it quite a bit, especially now that I’ve gone quite a few chapters (more like 12?) into the “War” bit of the book, idyllic depictions of Cossack life on the steppe from the first part now giving way to depictions of the events and horrors of war. Not that I prefer the latter over the former, mind you.

I am, of course, all but ignoring Neil Gaiman’s “Anansi Boys” and Haruki Murakami’s “Norwegian Wood” right now. Try as I might to read a lot of books and alternate between them, I find that I much prefer sticking to one and reading through it fully before moving on to the next one. Unless, of course, it’s a mix of fiction and non-fiction.

I bought this copy of “And Quiet Flows the Don” from that Shaikh Peer Saheb (it appeared in the papers, too, I think,) bookstore in Johor when I was living back there. The old couple running the shop (Shaikh Peer Saheb and his wife, perhaps?) were really great people, and I enjoyed my time there. Wish I could have visited them more often, but most of the times I passed by the shop after that it was closed. I fear that it’s closed for good now. =/

The lovely old-book smell of it has kind of went away though. I love that smell, don’t you?

Life is quite enjoyable right now. I’m reading some great books, enjoying my photography and generally just, well, feeling ok and satisfied. Vaguely cheerful, even. That is, really, good enough for me. A few things to look forward to and hope for as well, which is nice. Let’s just hope that hoping for the things I’m hoping for right now don’t end up backfiring on me. Uhuh.

One of the things I’m really looking forward to is my new lens arriving in the mail. Yeah. It’s the venerable, ever-loved Minolta 50mm f/1.7, with which I intend to have lots of fun with. Sadly, the crop factor on DSLRs makes it into a 75mm (I got my calculations right, yes?) lens, which is much less suited for general everyday photography. But that may be a good thing as well, as the fact that it’s a 75mm makes it a nifty portrait lens, yes? And I love portraits. Need to take more of those.

Quite excited, I am. I’ve learned to not get giddy with anticipation and excitement, though.

It’ll come.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

