ryoko did grudge

cleaning up
(No, don’t expect this photo to have anything to do with the article)

Seems like the rain’s coming back. It’s rained quite heavily for two nights straight, and this evening it rained again, much to my pleasure. Rain is wonderful, especially when it doesn’t threaten to spoil any of your plans and you can just relax, sit back and enjoy it, with nothing else to really occupy you. The sound of raindrops pattering, the smell of rain, the cool winds blowing and the feeling of renewal that comes along with the rain: all very enjoyable and all very, very lovely.

The fact that today’s rain came with thunder and lightning prompted me to turn off my computer just to be safe, and, as a result, I had to resort to other methods of filling my time and overcoming the ever-present spectre of boredom aside from the usual traipsing around the Internet that I am so accustomed to. I grabbed a book (Awang Goneng’s “Growing Up in Trengganu”), made myself comfortable on my bed and began to read.

It’s a good book, really is. It’s well-written, interesting and quite entertaining. My dad’s from Trengganu as well, and I get this feeling when reading the book that my dad knows exactly what Awang Goneng is writing about. At least, in part. In some ways it’s giving me an insight into how my dad may have lived his formative early years . . . years which I know precious little of.

I’m thankful that the things Awang Goneng writes about in the book are not exactly alien to me. I am a city kid, yes, but I’m no stranger to kampungs. That would just be sad and pitiful. Of course, I may not be a stranger, but neither am I all that familiar, either. I’m stuck somewhere in between, I guess, growing up in urban areas but informed by youthful experiences in my parents’ kampungs during the holidays, particularly the Hari Raya (What is it in English? Eid Mubarak or something like that?) holidays. Playing footy in the rain on a muddy, insanely water-logged field ranks high among my personal set of memories. Simply due to the sheer fun.

Nowadays, though, such activities have been replaced by Pro Evo tournaments and other videogame-related shenanigans. Which are fun, make no mistake, but perhaps not quite as memorable as getting soaked by a torrential downpour as you try in vain to kick a football further than a couple of feet.

  1. Zara Suhaimee
    Mar 5, 2008 at 18:03

    Awang Goneng’s “Growing Up in Trengganu”. my dad bought that book too! he was like “ee buku pasal terengganu! papa nk beli lah” haha, i know, my dad is a wierdo and now i know where i get my wierdo-ness from. and he’s from terengganu too! this is wierd. ok im gonna stop using “wierd” word. he left that book while he’s working outstation now. so i’ll be the one reading it! yipee :D

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

