Home > customisation, gigs and events, music, thoughts > a collection of random thoughts.

a collection of random thoughts.

It seems that the quickest way to my heart is not through my stomach, as the oft-quoted saying goes. Nope. The quickest way to make me like (and, perhaps, even love) you is to have a musical taste that is similar to mine — any part of it, as long as you’re not some xenophobic indie elitist — and are the type of person that can talk for hours on end about music and bands. Yeah. Start talking about music and I instantly liven up. It happens when I get talking movies and books as well, but not to the same extent. Basically, I guess I exhibit traits of a ‘musical nerd’, or something of the sort.

I really should get myself some sort of portable audio player if I have the cash (not sure if I do… probably not), just because it’d make my numerous ‘sipping-a-drink-and-people-watching’ moments just that more entertaining. And, of course, it’d make things so much more fun to be able to let someone listen to the song when I go “hey, have you heard of so-and-so song/band?”

Yes. Fun.

My potential refresher course in the finer points of teenage infatuation seems to really only take place when I’m in close proximity with the object of my infatuation. Or, at least, whenever I happen to see her. Which would be alright if the carryover effect of seeing her (and me going all ‘El Scorcho’ on myself… kinda) didn’t last so fucking long. Oh well. At least I’m pretty sure we’re friends and all. Certainly better than going ga-ga over some girl who I only know the face of.

Or someone 800 kilometres away who you never really call and only communicate with via text messages, e-mails and IMs.

(hahahaha, damn, I wish that hadn’t happened, but well… what doesn’t kill me makes me stronger? pshhh, clichés)

My glasses are getting to be fucking irritating. Never liked this pair of frames (trying it out for 15 minutes didn’t really prepare me for wearing it day-in, day-out) and now, this irritating scratch pattern has suddenly emerged, which will go away when I wipe the lens with that microfibre cloth thingy but magically reappears moments later. Sometimes I notice it, sometimes I don’t, but things like that irritate me. A lot.

My life is a series of irritations, really. No major problems (no significant illnesses, no family problems, no relationship problems… yet), but I seem to have the market cornered on irritations.

My right nostril is nearly always blocked or half-blocked. My hearing in my right ear is greatly diminished. My right knee occasionally still hurts (an effect of the osteoarthritis, methinks). My glasses don’t sit very well on my face. The right side of my nose is red, slightly inflamed and hurts quite a bit. My left eardrum throbs/clicks in time with every keypress on this keyboard (and does so, much less noticeably, whenever I move the fingers on my left hand). That last point is slightly counteracted by loud-ish music, but that’s not exactly healthy either. I have this perpetual headache. Waking up on a slightly cool morning makes my nose run, and I will proceed to sneeze until it starts to warm up (maybe this runs in the family? A cousin of mine has it worse, kinda)

Probably some I’ve forgotten too.

Yeah, fun too.

I messed around with foobar2000 again today, and decided to go back to columns_ui. I don’t seem to be able to edit the title formatting/status bar while using it in fb2k 0.9.5, but just having the track title in the title bar seems fittingly minimal and strangely attractive. Plus, no pesky “[foobar 0.9.5. beta 2]” text! Ditched album art and facets and all that. Back to the look I had going before I decided to mess about with panels_ui and stuff. Minimal, but I like it that way.

Really borrows a lot from pepijnnuland’s “Mire v2 Foobar look and config“, namely the whole “capitalization-for-now-playing” thing and the whole minimal colours look. I’ve been trying to figure out how to (if it’s even possible) to have the artist look something like “——— La Quiete” for the first track in an album. My tagz/whatever is too fucking lame, so I’ll probably ask around on the hydrogenaudio forums for help.

That Moms on Strike demo is really fucking awesome, y’know. Instant love.

Speaking of them…

I am going going going going to try and not miss it! Wish me luck, *crosses fingers*, pray for me, etcetc. I’m still kinda miffed about not being able to go to the Devilica gig today. Oh well. *shrugs*

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

