Home > life and times, thoughts > and every time I switched on the radio, there was somebody else singing a song about the two of us

and every time I switched on the radio, there was somebody else singing a song about the two of us

I could have said something.

I really could have. And should have.

But no. Cat got my tongue, I didn’t have the guts, so on. It wasn’t a complicated sentence at all, either. “Hey, you wanna grab a bite to eat or something?”

Of course, it isn’t how complicated the sentence is that matters, it’s the meaning. And that dear sentence of mine could have meant quite a bit.

So she said “bye” and walked away. I found myself sitting at my usual haunt, sipping my drink and watching the people as, inside, I slowly collapsed in upon myself.

I watched this kitten (I guess it still qualified as a kitten) in attack mode, prowling, eyes trained on the birds that one frequently finds hopping about on the ground at said restaurant. But it just watched from a distance, never moving any closer. When the first set of birds flew away, it locked on to another couple of birds and watched them too. Then it lay down, stretched and rolled about.

That cat really reminded me of myself. Except maybe without the whole lying down, stretching and rolling about. But then again….

But, come to think of it, she could have very well said “no” and declined my offer.

Categories: life and times, thoughts
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

