Home > gaming, the printed page > i’m too young to die! too young, and too handsome!

i’m too young to die! too young, and too handsome!

I picked up Mikhail Sholokhov’s And Quiet Flows the Don a day or so back and decided to try and finish it this time. It’s a nice book, and the way that Sholokhov portrays the characters as well as the countryside itself is a huge attraction for me. I’ve always had a soft spot for novels and stories that are set in the past as opposed to the present or future. Although, in this case, if I read it in the 1930s or 40s then I guess it would have been set in the present day to me. Hmm.

I also decided to start reading Anthony Hope’s The Prisoner of Zenda, as a sort of nostalgia trip. I read an abridged version of it in school a couple of years back and found it quite entertaining. Reading the full, unabridged version now I’m pleasantly surprised that the abridged version I read wasn’t all that.. “mutilated”, for lack of a better term. It’s quite an entertaining book, although I’m taking it slow due to the fact that I know most of the major plot points and such.

I’ve always had a very fertile imagination, and both books provide plenty of food to fuel the fires of my imagination. Stories set in fictional European countries involving royalty are quite enjoyable, yes. Feels good to let my imagination wander. All I need is a comfortable, plush chair…..

Yesterday I decided to play Metal Gear Solid 3, for some strange reason. My brother played a bit of it, but found it a bit hard and not really to his taste. I guess he prefers the urban confines and dark shadows of the Splinter Cell games as opposed to the jungle settings of MGS3. Maybe he’d like the previous MGS games.

I’m normally quite helpless when it comes to sneaking and stealth (althoguh I’m not much good at quick run-and-gunning either), but I’m finding MGS3 to be quite enjoyable. The story’s intriguing, and the graphics are well done. The gameplay is perhaps a bit slow, but that may be due to me being quite hesitant about moving and getting past guards. The cutscenes are mostly fucking stylish though, I’ll give you that.

It’s also occasionally funny, which is nice. Para-Medic’s conversations with Snake about movies are always funny, and the cutscene after Eva (or is it Eve?) gives Snake a .45 was pretty funny. “The feeding ramp’s been polished to a mirror sheen! The slide’s been reinforced! The interlock with the frame’s been tightened for added precision!”

I’m reminded of those movies where a nerd gets his hands on high-tech computer equimpent and goes all O_O.

Eva’s pretty hot, too.

Categories: gaming, the printed page
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

