Home > life and times > i’ve been looking so long at these pictures of you.

i’ve been looking so long at these pictures of you.

I decided on a whim tonight to look through some older photos of mine dating from 2005 and most of 2006 and look for something to use as a new header image for the blog. As evidenced by the new header, I found something suitable. I really like how it turned out. I particularly like the sort of gritty film effect I got via some simple editing in Photoshop.

The photos represent lots of fond memories in my life. Photos from the last days of school as well as photos from various moments with my friends during the post-SPM holidays in particular. I really miss those nearly-carefree days (at least during the holidays) but I guess what I really miss are my friends and hanging out with them.

It’s not like I don’t have friends here at uni (the fact that I’m jamming and hanging out with 3 other blokes attests to that), but it’s just not the same. To be honest though, it’s not like we see each other 5 days a week for around 6 hours each day, so it’s to be expected. Also, I might be looking through rose-tinted glasses here, but I never really had anything that I disliked about most of my close friends from school, whereas I have something I dislike about nearly everyone I know here at uni.

Regardless, I think it’s a good sign that when I was browsing through the photos I was smiling and laughing at incidents I remember instead of getting upset over missing school, my old neighbourhood and hanging out with my close friends. I’ve come a long way since 9 months ago, that’s for sure.

I’d really like to visit my old neighbourhood again and hang out with my friends, but somehow I feel that it’d do me more harm than good. Besides, I don’t really have anyplace to stay there, and crashing at a friend’s place isn’t the most appealing thing to me (because I’m kinda shy, y’know).

In other news, I might actually be going to another uni once I finish my foundation programme here. I’ve got one more short semester to go (starts on June 4th) and then my foundation programme is over, unless I have to repeat any subjects or something. Which I’m hoping doesn’t happen.

I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it, though. For now, I’ll enjoy my 3 week break (holidays are much less meaningful than my school days, haha) and then focus on getting through my short semester and getting good grades. Partly because I think I fucked up my finals for this semester.

Proper fucked?
haha, Snatch.

Categories: life and times
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

