Home > gaming > kagutsuchi hates you!

kagutsuchi hates you!

So, yeah. Finished Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne this evening. Noah and Baal Avatar were both pretty easy, although I attribute that to having an all-Fiend (except, of course, the hero) party and being perhaps overleveled. I was looking forward to facing Kagutsuchi, but as it turns out all I get is Kagutsuchi berating me for destroying the Reasons (something like that), mentioning that he had to go away and wait for a new moment to emerge and ended it with a not-very-nice “I hate you!” or something of the sort.

Essentially, his (?) speech reminded me of a teacher berating me for not finishing my homework, except without the “your soul is empty” and “I hate you!” bits.

Then I see that creepy kid and old woman, with the kid saying something about how the world of demons has emerged and whatnot, and then it goes to the credits.

Kinda anticlimactic, no?

I didn’t actually aim to get that ending. I answered most of the (presumably) plot/ending/Reason-affecting questions how I would answer them in real life, and so I guess that the ending I got is somewhat a reflection of myself. Or something like that.

I’ve got an urge to play through it again (on hard difficulty, this time) but I don’t think I can stand the low-level parts of the game, as well as all the fusing and whatnot. I’d probably spend far too much time debating with myself over what skills I want on my hero and my demons.

Speaking of demons, I don’t think I really mastered demon fusion, notably custom-making demons with specific skills. I never really “got” that, although come to think of it I did have a hard-on for the Fiends (which require Deathstones to be able to fuse) and I doubt I’d be able to do much “custom-making” if I didn’t have Deathstones.

Ah. I just suck at games (RPGs in particular) where the skill progression isn’t linear (see: most RPGs). Well, perhaps not exactly at the entire game, but when it comes to skills…

:clueless:

Currently listening to the soundtrack. It’s quite nice. It’s got rock/metal moments, dark, almost industrial-ish moments, your typical semi-symphonic tunes and even some loungy-sounding tracks. Good shit.

And now, the small list of Games I’ve Managed to Finish:
(haha)

Final Fantasy IV
Final Fantasy X
Final Fantasy X-2
Chrono Trigger
Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne
Fallout 2
Shadow of the Colossus
Bully
Grand Theft Auto: Vice City
Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas
5 Days a Stranger

Yeah, no Final Fantasy VI there, because I’ve reached the final dungeon twice but somehow failed to actually finish it. Damn. I’ve played Final Fantasies VII – IX but never had the drive to finish them. Got lost somewhere in Baldur’s Gate 2 and Icewind Dale 2 and failed to finish either of them.

I may just be able to add Wild Arms 3 to that list, or even Final Fantasy XII. If, of course, I start playing them again. I’m actually looking for another SMT game, probably Digital Devil Saga?

Categories: gaming
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

