Home > music > Some of the best things in life are free.

Some of the best things in life are free.

Well, only if you like music a lot. And, honestly, who doesn’t?

As one might gather from the rapidly expanding “ear candy” links section to the right, I’ve been on a netlabel discovery trip lately… and I’m liking what I’ve found (and heard) so far. The variety is quite mind-boggling… from post-rock to noise to IDM and nearly everything else. Maybe the “traditional” side of rock (drums-bass-guitar-vocals) isn’t as popular/well-represented, but look around and you’ll probably stumble upon a few good ones in that style.

To be honest, I feel that some of the stuff that’s actually free (and legally so) is better than some of the stuff out there that isn’t supposed to be free. There seems to be this adventurous/”strange” (for lack of a better word) streak that permeates a lot of netlabel-released material that sometimes can be hard to find in commercial releases. Or maybe I’m just dreaming it up? Haha. Take, for instance, El Senor Ciuf Ciuf‘s “As Seen from Above” album released on 12rec. I don’t think any label would really want to release something like that. But hey, I wouldn’t know.

What I do know, however, is that there’s a lot of awesome music floating around on the Internet. Not all music on the ‘Net is “illegal”, certainly not. I’m repeating myself (or am I?), but there’s a lot of completely free, completely legal music out there. Take some time to explore, and I’m sure you’ll find something that you like. I know I have. Lots of that “something” too, I might add. Lots and lots indeed.

Check out some of the links on the right and explore from there. The Netlabel Catalogue is a nice place to start, too.

I feel the urge to write more, but I don’t know what more to write. Except maybe that I suddenly feel an urge to start composing music again… and try and compose warped indie-noise-pop or something like that. God knows I’d probably fail at it, though. Haha.

Categories: music
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

